17 Followers
1 Following
girlwellread

Girl Well Read

Developmental Editor by day, Book Blogger by night.

The Color of our Sky

The Color of our Sky - Amita Trasi

A special thank you to Edelweiss and William Morrow for an ARC in exchange for an honest review.

Did I just read that correctly, that this is a debut novel? Seriously? Outstanding. This is an emotional story of two childhood friends—one a victim of the human slave trade, the other on a mission to save her after she is kidnapped from the room they share.

In 1996, Mukta at the age of ten has come of age to become a prostitute like her mother and grandmother. In an effort to escape her fate, she is sent to be a house girl for a family in Mumbai. There she forms a strong bond with Tara, the eight-year-old daughter of the family and the girls become like sisters.

One fateful night in 1993, Mutka is kidnapped from the room she shares with Tara and disappears. Tara ends up in America but never recovers from losing her best friend and cannot settle in LA. She blames herself for Mukta's kidnapping and embarks on a journey to bring her home. What she is not prepared for are the secrets that are uncovered about her own family along the way.

For fans of Khaled Hosseini, Nadia Hashimi, and Shilpi Somaya Gowda, you will not be disappointed that you picked up this book, you will be disappointed when you finish it.