14 Followers
1 Following
girlwellread

Girl Well Read

Developmental Editor by day, Book Blogger by night.

The Red House

The Red House - Emily Winslow

A special thank you to Edelweiss and HarperCollins for an ARC in exchange for an honest review.

2.5 stars. Like the other novels in the series, this one is also told from various points of view in first person narrative. Again Winslow falls down with this format, there are too many points of view and she would be so much more effective if she would just stuck with her detective team. There is the potential there to have great chemistry and it would be an interesting juxtaposition. While this book has less supporting characters, the multiple points of view stall the plot at times.

I was intrigued to read Winslow's books because they are marketed for fans of Kate Atkinson and Donna Tartt. I don't think anyone should have their work compared against Tartt, I feel that she is in a league all her own. That being said, I would definitely check out other books in the series because I think Winslow has a lot of potential. This one was marginally better than The Start of Everything.